Lately, I’ve been coming across a wealth of really interesting books that have been released, or will be released this year. Some of them explore diverse voices and some of them explore new ways of telling old stories. All of them are making me drool and are piling up on my Amazon wish lists!

Four Book I'm Exited to Read in 2017

I was strolling across Sabaa Tahir’s instagram, when I came across her review of City of Brass, by S.A. Chakraborty, and fell in love. It follows Nahri in eighteenth century Cairo, a girl who believes magic and fortune telling to be nothing more than a sleight of hand that helps her to get by. That is, until she accidentally summons a djinn warrior and is drawn into the magical city of Daevabad.

This is a tale of not only magic, but political intrigue. And, I was so intrigued that I immediately raced over to Amazon to purchase it… but, it doesn’t come out until November 14th!

You can be sure that I’m counting down the days.

Not long after, I scrolled across a review of Girls made of Glass and Snow, by Melissa Bashardoust. The description for this Snow White retelling had me floored!

Mina was a girl who thirsted for a feeling she would never know after her father ripped her heart out and replaced it with one made of glass. She decides to use her beauty to win a king’s love and finally know what it feels like.

Lynet wasn’t really born. She was crafted out of snow in the image of the King’s dead wife and urged to be the woman that her mother was. But, Lynet isn’t interested in that. She looks to the woman that will soon be her stepmother and wishes to be as fierce as she is.

When the King proclaims Lynet as the Queen of the Southern Territories, Mina begins to look at the young woman with hatred. Lynet is forced to figure out how to save her relationship with the only mother figure she’s ever had.

This story sounds absolutely mind blowing! It’s a stunning twist on a tale that’s been told many times over, in animation and with a less than stunning Kristen Stewart. I want this book so badly, but it’s slated to be released on September 5th. Looks like I know what I’m using my birthday money for.

I think we are all impatiently waiting for this amazing double drop from Leigh Bardugo. Wonder Woman: Warbringer is coming to our bookshelves this August! I cannot wait to see what she’s done with my favorite superhero after seeing that spectacular big screen display by Gal Gadot and Patty Jenkins.

On the other hand, I’m also more than ready to head back into the Grishaverse with her upcoming book, The Language of Thorns. She’s given us sneak peaks of the inside art for this folk tale compilation on her instagram stories, and it is stunning. She’s even gotten teary eyed herself over the final art in this book. I’m so happy for her and more than ready to find a place to display this beauty in my home.

The Language of Thorns will be released on September 26th. (Psst: that is a day after my birthday!)

Honorable mentions include:

  1. Tower of Dawn, by Sarah J Maas. Sept 5th, 2017 (but, let’s face it. We can’t say we love Chaol as much as we used to).
  2. The Cruel Prince, by Holly Black. Jan 2nd, 2018 (I’ve never been let down by Black, and let’s face it, Jan 2nd is practically still 2017!)
  3. All the Crooked Saints, by Maggie Steifvater. Oct 10th, 2017 (If it is anything like The Raven Boys, I’m already in love.)
5 thoughts on “4 Books I’m Excited to Read in 2017

  1. All of these are now added to my TBR! There are a few 2017 releases that I haven’t started yet but I really want to.
    Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth
    Caraval by Stephanie Garber
    Strange the Dreamer by Liani Taylor
    Wayfayer (Passengers #2) by Alexandra Bracken

    and then some that aren’t out yet,
    Renegades by Marissa Meyer
    Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

    I had to stop myself at 6 books. I have SO many more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to get my hands on Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. Her trilogy was mind blowing. Love love love Zuzanna! Another book that’s already out that I want is Geekerella.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

