So, bear with me because I’m not a food blogger (as much as I would love to be). My photos were a bit underwhelming and the pizzas themselves were delicious, but not the prettiest. Some pizzas didn’t even get photographed because they were hulking messes or I was just too damned tired or underwhelmed by the product.

Two pizzas stood out in the week of the Balefire pizza challenge: The BLT pizza and the Bacon and Fig Jam pizza. I’m going to post photos and rave about the taste. Let me know if you’re interested my recipes and I’ll try to type them up for you, not only for my mini recipe booklet, but for a free post, too.

balefirelogo

The Empress/BLT Pizza

Okay, so it was technically a BA pizza. There was bacon and there was arugula, but I completely forgot the diced tomatoes! Once I realized I forgot them, I really missed them. Hubs, on the other hand, hates tomatoes so it was a big win for him.

I used a pre-made, thin crust dough for the base. The sauce was a homemade thousand islands dressing (invented in my hometown!). I topped it with mozzarella, Parmesan, and cooked bacon before it went into the oven.

Once I pulled it from the oven, I topped it with fresh arugula and dove in. This was my favorite pizza of the week. It’s super light and simple.

The World/Bacon and Fig Jam Pizza

This was inspired by a classic appetizer, goat cheese filled figs wrapped in bacon. I loved the flavor combo last time I had this and wanted to replicate it with a pizza. I used leftover bacon from the first pizza and cooked it down with onions, maple syrup, Worcestershire sauce, and dried figs to make a spreadable jam.

I could have eaten that with a spoon. Instead, I spread it across individual pizza crusts and topped it with mozzarella and crumbled goat cheese. Go easy on the goat cheese if you’re new to it. The stuff is potent. Once I pulled the pizza from the oven, I drizzled it with a balsamic reduction (that I bought).

I didn’t think hubs would like this pizza at all, but he devoured it. He even forced himself to save some of the pizza so that he could have it again later, then spent the night casting longing glances in it’s direction. That’s the kind of results you want in the kitchen!

What do you think of my pizza inspirations? What else would you like to see added to the Balefire Menu?

Leave a Reply

