It wasn’t until the day of that I started to get really nervous. I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough books. I was worried that I wouldn’t want to talk to a bunch of strangers all day. I was worried that I looked fat in the dress I chose (which I know is ridiculous).

The morning of the event, I changed my outfit three times. The first dress, the one that my fans chose online, was just a wee bit too tight. Then I opted for my Totoro dress, but felt I would be too cold. It wasn’t until I tried on jeans and a thin top that I immediately decided to wear the Totoro dress.

SO INDECISIVE!

My Face
Don’t mind my crazy eyes.

Anyway, the event went way better than I thought it would. I set up my books and the bookmarks my husband so lovingly designed and printed last minute. In no time, friends and family arrived to buy books and chat me up. People I hadn’t seen in years came to get books. What surprised me the most was the amount of books purchased by people I DIDN’T know.

That shook me.

People genuinely picked up my book and found themselves drawn into the story that I love so much. I brought thirteen books with me and by the time I left (within a two hour span) there was one left. Only four purchases were made by friends!

As nervous as I was, I cannot wait to do more events like this. Next time around I’ll be sure to do a few things a little differently. I will try to be a little better when talking about my own story. I choked a few times, even if they did end up buying. Another thing was that I completely forgot to take any photos! All I have is the one announcing my arrival!

I’m currently looking to book more events. As it stands I have the Author Meet and Greet at a local library in May and the Hallowread event in October (which I still need to book my spot!).

7 thoughts on “How My First Book Signing Went

  1. Congrats on your successful day! All artists have just a little self doubt; but you chose to overcome it and your story got out there to new people. Did they join your newsletter group yet? 😉

    Can’t wait to hear about your next meet and greets. Have fun and enjoy the small successes that add up in a big way.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the support! I haven’t hooked them on the newsletter yet. We’re going to have to go back and revise to bookmark as we rushed it and forgot to add where to actually find me! You live and you learn. xD

      Like

  2. Congrats on both a first and successful event! That’s so great! I think every creative gets nervous when having to talk about their own stuff/display it…it’s nerve wracking for sure. Glad it was a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m actually excited to do more! There’s an event in Maryland that I hope I can save up enough for some swag and a banner. Can’t wait to look a little more polished.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How awesome!! A local book store in a town about an hour from my college town does small author book signings. I happened to stumble on one once and I bought the authors book. Even though it wasn’t my cup of tea, I was still happy that I supported them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you could do that for an author! While I’m tickled people wanted to support me, I also hope that some of them enjoy what I made. Not all, but some ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

