I’m not talking about roughing it in the wild, although you’re welcome to do so if you have to.

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-Header

What I’m talking about is Camp Nanowrimo!

Nanowrimo, as you might already know, is National Novel Writing Month. Normally, the race to 50k words takes place during November. During the months of April and July, the organization also known as Nanowrimo host mini month-long words sprints where you can set your own word count goals. In keeping with the coming warm weather of this time of year, they have dubbed it Camp Nanowrimo!

Confession time! Never before have I successfully completed a Camp Nano.

I’ve completed Nanowrimo for several years. The 50k goal seems like nothing when I’m slamming away at the keyboard. On the other hand, my own mini goals seem so far out of reach. They always fail within the first few months.

My current YA story began life as a Camp Nanowrimo project. This April, my goal is a 20k stretch to finish it. Seems fitting that it will begin and end the first draft on a Camp Nanowrimo. I’m beyond excited to finally see the story on paper, even if it only a first draft.

If you’ve never participated in Nanowrimo before, make this one a training session. Commit to a low daily word count. Before you know it, those 800 word sprints will add up to half a book! Get yourself a drawer full of snacks, salty or sweet, so that you don’t have to break away from your writing process. I love popcorn and M&Ms for all occasions! Don’t forget a drink. No matter if you’re working on a laptop, desktop, or pen and paper, a receptacle with a lid is always a good idea! I’ve seen too many twitch streamers spill their drinks on really important equipment not to count this as a necessity.

Also, get yourself a writing spot sequestered away from annoying busy bodies and create a playlist to drive your muse. I use Spotify to create playlists for characters, scenes, and the overall mood of the story.

Even more important: start your plotting. There are three days left! Get your character resumes and plot outlines all in order. I use a big, purple binder filled with extra lined paper for quick notes to keep everything in order. If you need help with either of those check out my character post and my plotting post. Drop me questions if you need to! I’ll respond as fast as I can! I like to use Pinterest to keep my visual inspiration in order. It’s full of wonderful images that only you will know the secret meaning to. Plus, if you want everything on the down low, you can make it a secret board!

If you’re curious as to what I’m working on, head over to my project page to read a synopsis and sample chapter! Or, alternatively, you can check out my Pinterest inspiration board.

What are you committing to Camp Nanowrimo this year?

2 thoughts on “Are You Ready To Go Camping?

  1. Ha, I really am ready for rouging it camping! Unfortunately, we’re getting a foot of freaking snow tonight/tomorrow.

    All the best with Camp NaNoWriMo! I’m always so impressed with those who participate; it sounds so intimidating to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think New York is finally done with the snow! Sorry you’re still getting it 😦

      Thanks for the encouragement! My goal is set at 20k for the month and comes out to only 805 words a day. It wasn’t daunting at first, but I realized I’m going to be ghostwriting, too!
      EEEEEEPPPPP
      I’m going to need all the luck I can get!

      Like

Leave a Reply

