When you’re in love with a story, an entire world, you want something more to remind you of that in your every day life. I mean, who doesn’t want a little reminder of something magical in their mundane life? I most certainly do.

Part of my goal with my Patreon is to give back to my readers and patrons. I want to create fun things that remind them of the magic they’re helping me to create. I’m a dreamer, always looking to the future I’d like to see. Also, I kind of what this for myself, too. Can you blame me?

pop


Mugs

balefiremug

If you’ve been to my house, you know I most definitely have a problem with buying mugs. They are no longer contained to a cabinet, even though I drink out of maybe five of the mugs I own. I found one that I’d thought stolen by a loved one not too long ago. Turns out, I never unpacked it from our last move.

Balefire is my dream restaurant. Cooking is such a huge part of who I am and what I love to do with my life. Since owning a restaurant is risky business, I gave one to a beloved character and watched it grow into a part of her. To see a Balefire mug or wine glass in houses across the country would make it so much more real.

Do you love it as much as I do?

Candles

candle

This idea came to me while I was scrolling across Instagram. Businesses for book inspired candles are popping up all over the internet. I can’t say I don’t secretly love the idea. It takes something completely imaginary and gives the reader a way to feel it, to literally smell it.  How real is that?

For Marked, I would like to see a scent inspired the Wild Hunt. It’d be foresty with a hint of something wild. Musk, maybe? Then, who wouldn’t want to know what Balefire smelled like? First thing in the morning, it would smell like real maple syrup and strong coffee. Faoladh would be something chocolate based, since the Wild Hunt is already woodsy and musky.

Apparel

diana-%e2%80%a8darren-%e2%80%a8jason-%e2%80%a8petra-%e2%80%a8magda

This might be as pricey as making mugs, but it is even better advertising. I would make character list tees and hoodies, “I ran with the Wild Hunt all I got was this lousy tee/hoodie” apparel, and maybe even Balefire staff shirts.

Bookmarks

What is more useful than a bookmark when selling a book? This is something that I plan on investing some money into so that I can have a good design. I’d also love to paint something myself to use for a Marked inspired bookmark, but I’m kind of doubting my skills right now. It’s been a long time since I used my watercolors.

Tote Bags

I am all for exiling plastic bags.

I use them for scooping my cat litter. That’s it.

Tote bags are great for all kinds of uses and are great advertising while we help our planet out a little bit. I like that. You like that. The planet likes that.

Cookie Cutters

Finally, because I’m a food dork, I would like to have custom cookie cutters 3D printed for Marked. They would almost definitely be wolf paw cookie cutters and come with a Balefire exclusive recipe written by Sabrina herself. Future stories might inspire more cookie cutters and I’m okay with that.

(It’s another one of those things that I own way too many of, but only use a handful.)

Someday, there might even be a Balefire cookbook for Patrons. Just a thought. Let me know if you like it!


This is a dream list. There’s no way that I could accomplish any of this at the moment, but I’m hoping that enough people love the world that I’ve fallen in love with enough that they’ll help me to pull some of these things from that world and into ours.

I want to start these items in small batches for giveaways to show just how much I appreciate people buying and loving my book. I’m loving writing in this world right now and I want to stay working it it for a while.

3 thoughts on “Book Swag: Six Things I’d Like to Have Made For Marked

Leave a Reply

