We rang in the New Year with Mariah Carey’s awfully laughable performance last night. I mean, that was the best possible way to end such a heart wrenching year. I will always miss my Rebel Princess, but we can’t dwell on grief forever.

It’s time to look to the future!

And we all know what that means: New Year’s Resolutions. I won’t talk about my weight. I think we can assume that many of us have some sort of weight goal. Cool, kill it. I’m here to talk about my writing goals for the year. In December, I quit my full time job and went rogue, starting work as a freelance writer while self-publishing my first novel.

That isn’t the end all, be all. There’s still so much work to be done!

2017 Resolutions!


Resolution 1: Sell more books with proper marketing. I really need to learn how to better market my book. I recently discovered the fun and wonder of Canva and I can’t wait to test making some ads and social media posts with it.

Resolution 2: Revise book two for my self published series and start work on number three! I already have some awesome ideas to amp up the conflict in book two and characters waiting to take the stage in book three. I also have ideas for more book series, but unfortunately there’s never enough time in a day.

Resolution 3: Write compelling articles on, what else, writing! I’d really like to know what you, the reader, would like to see coming to the blog. I plan on posting at least once a week on a fiction writing topic that you would like explained. (I’m also going to do a few reader/writer shopping posts, too! Who doesn’t love cool things and new books?!)

Resolution 4: Become part of an Urban Fantasy Indie Author group. I’ve joined several facebook groups already, but haven’t been too present on any of them. I hope to create relationships there that help not only me, but other indie authors as well.


This is such a new and sparkling point in my life. I’m excited to buy leggings or sweat pants and be able to call them work clothes!

9 thoughts on “2017, Here I Come!

  1. That is so exciting Leah! I will definitely be snagging a copy of your book. Congrats on going freelance! We can discover these new waters together. 🙂 Best of luck with your goals, and wishing you all the best for 2017!

    Like

    1. I’m scared and excited all at once. Thanks for your well wishes! And yes, it’s on Amazon. Click on the book cover on the far right of my blog and it should take you there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with all of your resolutions. Let me know if you want any help with marketing. Every week I schedule my social media and just remind me and I’ll add your posts and of course my own posts on your book. ❤

    As far as number two, don't hesitate to reach out to an editor. I know Hannah Bauman of Between the Lines Editorial (also part of Geek Girls x Blogger) is one. She's edited some of my blog posts when I don't have time to and it great. Her rates aren't that bad at all.

    Becoming active in communities is great and making new connections is one of the best feelings (especially when you're like me and slightly more than a little anti social). I love how many things in common we've found recently and cheers to finding more connections and also becoming closer friends in 2017!

    Like

    1. Hubs has had a close online friend for years now and they just met in real life in 2016 for the first time. I like to think I’m making friendships like that ❤ Editing comes with extra money, unfortunately. I'm just scraping by with my own bills on freelancing. I hope the Patreon with help me with that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

