Also, I wrote a book.

leahcov300dpi-resized-1
Look at how damned pretty that turned out! Props to BeaGifted!

In 2012, I started a novel for Nanowrimo. It’s a challenge to write 50,000 words in under a month’s time. Right before that I had gone to Texas to witness my then boyfriend (now husband) at his Basic Training graduation. It was inspiring.

A character’s voice grew in my head. She had a story to tell.

I finished her story, a completely different book at the time. In 2013, I moved to California. In the months that I didn’t have a job, I threw myself into copious revisions on this book. So many things changed, including my protagonist’s name and my big baddie!

It went on hold for a while. Life took center stage and I forgot that I was a writer at some times. Still, I never let go of this book. It was my first child. I was afraid of self publishing because it meant your work wasn’t good enough. It meant no one wanted to read it if no publisher wanted to buy it.

I didn’t realize that it was a stepping stone. I didn’t realize that other authors had started in that very way. What was there to be ashamed about? Why was I so hesitant?

I realized that I didn’t have any real reason.

Now, at the very end of 2016, I finally self published my book!

Marked For The Hunt is a story about a werewolf girl, or Faoladh of Irish myth, and her reluctance to go back to the home of her childhood trauma. Brought back by the death of her grandfather, the Clan Alpha, Diana is caught in the middle of a civil war.

Her life tumbles out of control as she faces a choice between survival and responsibility.

Leave a Reply

